Premed 101 Forums

What to do during 5th year?

Guest Guide me

Guest Guide me

Hi everyone!

I am curious about a situation that, unfortunately, probably isn't that uncommon. I am in my 4th year of undergraduate studies, and will have finished my 4-year Hon. B.Sc. degree this spring. After early rejections from a couple of med schools, I have realized that I must make plans for this upcoming year. I did apply to graduate school, but to be honest, I am not exactly getting goosegumps in anticipation for that. What are some of my other options? What else can pre-meds do -- aside from re-applying of course -- after they complete their 4-year degrees and still find themselves on the outside looking in? Work? Travel?

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!!!!

Guest Liana

If you were rejected due to marks, you probably want to take an extra year to boost your marks. Taking those classes that really interested you, for which you have never had time, is generally a better way to get good marks than taking "bird courses". You would be surprised how many people do poorly in supposedly simple classes, because they're just not interested.