Premed 101 Forums

A PT graduates perspective

Hey all,

First let me start by saying that this web community is great, I’m happy to be a new member and contribute!

I am a recent PT grad in the process of finding a job. I thought I’d share my insights of the profession and give you all an inside look. Keep in mind that everything I say comes from my personal experiences.

School:

It was a tough 2 years! Undergrad required a lot of work, but it wasn’t necessarily hard as long as you stay on top of things. Pt school is much tougher because of the sheer volume of material that’s thrown at us, and because we don’t have as much free time as undergrad. First semester of first year was by far the toughest, but everybody slowly eased into things afterwards. My buddies tell me the first year of other programs (OT, meds) is similar.

The requirements to get in are high (higher than when I was accepted), but I heard rumors that schools are looking into changing the admissions process to place a greater emphasis on ECs and experiences. They may even require the GRE like our American counterparts. This is all speculation however.

Salary: