Premed 101 Forums

Which School?

Guest ioncannon97

Guest ioncannon97

Hi, I am an undergrad student in Saskatchewan who has the opportunity to go to med school here in Saskatoon after 2 undergrad years or I could wait and do three or more years to apply to more prestigiuos schools like Toronto, Queens, etc. My main reasons for going to med school here would be saving a year and the small class size (only 55 students). My main reason for going to school in a place like Toronto would be the reputation of the school for residency spots. Which of the above do you think is more importent. i.e. save year plus small class vs. better reputation of school. I have full confidence that I would recieve a great medical education in Saskatoon but I wonder if this school's reputation is good enough to land a great residency spot. If I do apply to Ontario schools I think I will be competetive (4.0 G.P.A on converted OMSAS scale, 36 MCAT, two research summers, 2 years volunteer etc.) So what do you think? Should I wait or go to school here and save a year? Would I even be considered for a school like Toronto since I am out of province.

p.s. i said above G.P.A was 4.0, this is assuming my finals go as planned.

Guest PeterHill0501

ioncannon97...

Just for interest...my father grew up in Saskatoon. He went to Watson public school...do you know it? I've got a great picture I can send you of the school if you do...the picture is about 65 years old with the entire school population standing out front. Bye the way...apparently back in those days all students were in the same class, regardless of grade!