Premed 101 Forums

Volunteering

Guest Total D

Guest Total D

I'm currently a 2nd year student and I want to get into Meds.

The only problem is that I haven't done a lot of volunteering. I've joined a lot of clubc, kept my grades high and played some intramural sports, but I really haven't had the time to get any volunteering done.

I was wondering how much health-care related volunteering people do before they can get into med school. Also, do most people volunteering during high school or during their undergrad years?

I'd really appreciate any help!

Guest Ian Wong

There's a lot of previous threads regarding volunteering on this forum, and I'd look through some of the old messages as you'll probably turn up additional useful information. Most people get some health-care volunteering in during undergrad, and it's a good thing to have in order to know what you might be getting yourself into as far as a health-care career goes.

Just like you wouldn't buy a car without first visiting some dealerships and test-driving a few, you probably shouldn't go for a health care career until you see if you like working around patients, sick people, etc. There really isn't an upper-limit to how much you can volunteer, nor is there really a lower limit that you MUST have. More important is that you actually get something of use from the experience itself; meeting people, working and talking with patients, etc.

Ian

UBC, Med 3

Guest Total D

I find it very hard to keep up with the workload in an honours program and do my extracurriculars.

How do some people deal with the lack of time??

Guest bad hombre