Premed 101 Forums

Research Experience

People may have asked this multiple times but here we go again:

I'm a third year student who applied this year. Yes I have done research for three years but no publication....as a third year student, is a publication/poster presentation an absolute mandatory to stand a bare minimum chance of being accepted? Anyone in Ottawa med currently or in not-too-long-ago history who's gotten in without any research or without publication/poster presentation?

Friend of mine got accepted after 3 years and didn't do any research. He had stellar marks and EC's though, so def's make sure you're still doing something meaningful with your time.

Remember that UoO only looks at EC's that you've done in university!!

thanks CaptainCrunchMan!

I wonder what's the reason behind.. "Only the activities completed during your postsecondary (university) studies will be used in the assessment of your detailed submission."

so for applicants that completed an undergradute degree, they can't add to their ECs by working/volunteering/researching in health-care, unless they do another degree (either second undergrad or grad)? yet same activities of same duration completed during university (such as co-op, taken years off school, etc.) can be assessed? makes me wonder how it's assessed for applicants whom 3 recent years span btw 2 degrees with years of working in btw.

Or maybe it simply means activities prior to postsecondary (university) studies will not be assessed..

Don't quote me but I go to uottawa and went to a presentation by the dean of admissions and he said to keep everyone on equal playing ground they only look at undergrad (grades for sure and I think activities as well but I cannot completely recall). You can always email them or call and they would be able to give you a definitive response.

thanks CaptainCrunchMan!