Premed 101 Forums

IB doubts, just in time for exams...

Guest Shezadi SK

Guest Shezadi SK

Hello,

I'm a grade 12 student taking partial IB and going to the U of Alberta next year. I decided to take the IB exams for bio, chem, physics, and english. If I get a 6 or 7 on an exam, I'll have to skip that first-year course in university. Is it likely that I'd fail if I took a second-year course in my first year of university? (I've recently heard horror stories) If anyone here has skipped a course or knows anyone that has, I'd appreciate some info. Thanks a lot!

Guest Ian Wong

You could retake those courses in first year university if you wanted. What's the rush in skipping most of your first year courses?

Ian

UBC, Med 3

hey shezadi,

I'm in the same boat too...

grade 12 ...partial IB

UofA next year (see ya there!)

anyways...about skipping first year...a lot of the counsellors recommened NOT doing it...

But then again.... I've heard students say that first year courses are pretty much IB all over again (oh dayum....)

Hehe..that probably wasn't very useful...but just my 0.02

-anup-

anup@shaw.ca

Guest Shezadi SK

The problem is, if I get a 6 or 7, I have to skip the course. The university doesn't give you a choice. I don't understand why; it's a strange rule.

So now I have 2 choices: do my best on the exams and possibly get to skip those courses, OR purposely get less than 6 to be on the safe side in university. Has anyone here tried second year courses in their first year?

Guest 9901birdie

Hey I took partial IB in hi school and got a 7 in chem phys and math...while i could choose to skip first yr chem in UofT i decided not to

so I didn't send them my IB transcript

and that worked

don't know about UofA tho...

Guest Shezadi SK

Thanks for the replies...!

As far as I know, it's not specifically for BSc general. When I applied for conditional admission, I was told that if I got a 6 or 7, I wouldn't be given a choice.