Premed 101 Forums

debunking a myth...

Guest pp15

to what extent is it true that schools like western and brock have 'easier' undergrad programs than schools like uft and queens?

just wondering if anyone has stats as to the success rates of appilicants from different schools?

i'm a student at uft, and while i'm really glad i decided to go to uft, i often hear students griping about how they would have had a much better shot of getting into meds had they gone to an 'easier' school.

while i'm skeptical as to how valid a complaint this is, I'm curious to get the thoughts of students who have already gone through the admission process.

this is my first post, but i've been visiting this board for a couple weeks now. kudos to ian (and everyone else involved)for setting up this forum.

Guest Ian Wong

I have some stats for UBC med school, but none for any other Canadian med schools:

premed101.com/stats.html#PMUniv

As you can see, the lion's share of each year's class comes from a UBC background, but there are a significant number each year that came from comparitively smaller universities.

Ian

UBC, Med 3

Guest Liana

Perhaps this is a stupid question, but I'm assuming that uft = U of T?