Premed 101 Forums

Tips for impatience?

Hi,

I am a non-traditional applicant, who only decided to pursue medicine about 1.5 years ago. I completed my undergrad in 2009, with a high GPA and honors. I never took any "hard sciences" because I always thought I would apply for a masters in public health/epidemiology. I am now slowly working on taking science pre-reqs. Unfortunately, I can't afford to go back to school full-time to take science pre-reqs. I applied to 3 med schools this year as an out of province applicant, and and got one rejection so far :-( (my MCAT VR score didn't meet OOP cut off). I probably need to re-write my MCAT in the new year to be more competitive as an out of province applicant. I've been working in the same job for the past 2 years or so, it's a great place (health center in marginalized community), but I am beginning to feel like I need "change"... I feel impatient.

I am just wondering what all non-traditional applicants do while "waiting" to get into medicine?

Thanks.

Hi,

I am a non-traditional applicant, who only decided to pursue medicine about 1.5 years ago. I completed my undergrad in 2009, with a high GPA and honors. I never took any "hard sciences" because I always thought I would apply for a masters in public health/epidemiology. I am now slowly working on taking science pre-reqs. Unfortunately, I can't afford to go back to school full-time to take science pre-reqs. I applied to 3 med schools this year as an out of province applicant, and and got one rejection so far :-( (my MCAT VR score didn't meet OOP cut off). I probably need to re-write my MCAT in the new year to be more competitive as an out of province applicant. I've been working in the same job for the past 2 years or so, it's a great place (health center in marginalized community), but I am beginning to feel like I need "change"... I feel impatient.

I am just wondering what all non-traditional applicants do while "waiting" to get into medicine?

Thanks.