Premed 101 Forums

advice needed, 2nd degree

Greetings and happy new year to all!

This is my first time posting so please bear with me. I've been around the site for some time now and learned a lot about the application processes etc. However, I would feel less stress and more relieve if I personally ask as oppose to relying on other people's thread. I hope none of you guys mind.

So currently I'm 3rd year in York's Hon BA program after 2 years of BScN from Ryerson. I decided to transfer hoping to be more ready for meds, i hope i did the right choice. Ryerson's nursing program during the final 2 years are heavily reliant on pass/fail courses, so I decided to transfer to have a more objective grading for my GPA. That's my background.

I have searched around and read a lot and found that i would have a better chance if i go for a second undergrad.

So far, I am looking at Queens and Western.

My question is that would I be able to apply to Queens after one year of my 2nd UG? I understand that they would look at my 2 best years and they can span between degrees. I mention one year, given that I would have enough transfer credits to be eligible.

for my 2nd UG Im looking at biology at UofT. I believe that would help me with mcat as well. However, do I need to apply as a "highschool" student? i didn't take calc and physics in highschool that's why. Would my clinical experience in nursing count as ECs? i have shadowed, observe, and participated in care in OR, pre-op and post-op, as well as in neurology and medicine floors. Finally, what are you thoughts on Athabasca for 2nd UG?

Thanks a lot, I'm looking forward to your replies. good day!

-Queens does not look at two best years; they look at your overall cGPA to see if you meet cutoff and if not, they look at two most recent years. Western looks at two best years, provided some rules - I don't know how they will look at span degrees.