Premed 101 Forums

In Need of Verbal Rescue

rio

I have been practicing for a few months now and have not seen much improvement. I started off at 4-6 range and I am still scoring anywhere between 4-8.

Things I have noticed and have tried to address:

- When I first started, it took me ~15 mins/passage. I noticed that I goo back to the passage too much, I have cut down on that and now it takes me 10-12 minutes.

- I have tried various strategies: underlining the transition words but that did help me at all, I preview the questions before attacking the passage but it doesn't really help me although I continue to do that just to calm myself down although, I only read the shorter questions (I don't waste time on the long questions).

-I have also tried to answer the questions before looking at the options but I have a hard time doing it due to the nature of the questions but I am still working on that. Any tips on that would be appreciated.

- I tried ranking but it takes me way too much time and I feel that its more of a hassle to remember what I have to go back to and sometime, by just reading the first few sentences, I can't tell if it will be a hard one or not...some passages are easy read but the questions are killer.

- I mentally map the passage in term of the flow. After reading the passage, I write one word for the tone (argumentative, informative etc) and a sentence or part sentence for the bottom line. Then, I start to attack the questions in order as they appear.

- I am keeping a log of the mistakes I make and trying to look for a pattern but there doesn't seem to be one. For me, it all seems to depend on the passage and the questions. I find that I make silly mistakes on some questions and other questions, I tend to narrow down to 2 choices but have a hard time picking the answer. I use strategies like eliminating extreme wording, the answer should be in line with the main idea. I don't find that I make mistakes on any one particular type of question.