Premed 101 Forums

'too late' for volunteering?

sprinkles

Hello All,

I was wondering....can it ever be 'too late' for volunteering? If I dont have an impressive record of EC *during* my undergrad does that look bad? I'm currently in my last year of undergrad (I finish - hopefully- by the end of August). Instead of taking the standard 5 course load I usually do I took 4 classes this term and am planning on doing a LOT of volunteering and shadowing, but I'm wondering if this 'looks bad'? Do med schools focus on the balance of doing EC WITH school? Does it look bad that I am all of a sudden taking on a bunch of ECs in my 2nd last term of undergrad? Or do they really not care?

thanks!

okie dokie I will.

Its not that I haven't done 'anything' but...Med school wasn't seriously on my mind until this past summer. When I was in high school I volunteered a LOT! I got like 300 hours or something - which is a lot for a high school student. I actually really enjoyed volunteering with lots of places from blood donor clinics to canvassing for heart and stroke foundation and Alzheimer's association to working for a MP to volunteering for summer camp for disadvantaged kids etc etc ) But when I got into uni my parents told me to forget about everything in first year so I can focus on my studies (they were scared they would get a repeat of my sister :P )

Also, is employment taken into a lot of consideration? Because I believe I've read that the reason that ECs are so important is to 'teach you what class cant'...I have quite a bit of work experience for someone my age (20) so I'm hoping it will work in my favour?

Heres my break down:

1st year - did nothing but study study study (had some family problems too so family agreed I should not take on anymore responsibility) - in winter I started a majorrrrr job applying session and managed to get a job!

Summer Job with Ministry of Child and Youth Services

2nd year: