Premed 101 Forums

I'm new to this!

Guest DaveCartwright

Guest DaveCartwright

Hey there everyone!

Well, I'm pretty new to the premed game. I originally was all about the computer programming, but shortly after taking a highschool anatomy course, I realized that the world of medicine is for me.

I have just one main question - after highschool (one more year left for me), what is the best path towards surgery?

Thank you for your time,

Dave

Guest Ian Wong

Hi,

Becoming a surgeon is an awfully long road. I applaud your enthusiam, but it's a decision that you really shouldn't commit to without a lot more time. Take the time to keep your options open. There are likely many other jobs out there that would interest you as much or more, and I'm sure you'll encounter them as time goes on. Make sure to keep an open mind.

Lecture aside, here's the "typical path" to becoming a surgeon for someone at your stage.

1 year : Finish high school.

4 years: Complete a Bachelor's degree in university

4 years: Complete a medical degree

5 years: Complete a surgical residency

As you can see, you've still got another *14* years to go before you can become a surgeon fully licensed to practise in Canada. If you got into med school after three years of university, and went to a med school that has a three year program, you'd still take 12 years to become a surgeon, or essentially like starting from kindergarten up to grade 12 all over again.

Becoming a surgeon is a very long haul, no doubt about it. :)

Ian

UBC, Med 3

Why does it seem to me that any medical sholl student or future MD loves to give discouraging signal to those wishing to join the programs?

Your comments may be all true, but not a single encouraging word. Look like you think your profession is reseved.

Guest cheech10

Babar,