Premed 101 Forums

Seeking Advice

I graduated with a Bachelor of Science from University of Waterloo three years ago. I bombed my undergrad like no tomorrow, but I still somehow graduated with a Honors Degree. I spent 5 years in undergrad, and most of it I was lost without direction. Now, I have a lot of regrets because I realized I really do want to go to med school. I don't think there is as much clarity as I am right now.

Now I am now thinking about going back to school to get a second degree and decided to apply as a non-traditional application. I am just seeking some advice, and I really would just appreciate some response.

Thank you in advance.

I graduated with a Bachelor of Science from University of Waterloo three years ago. I bombed my undergrad like no tomorrow, but I still somehow graduated with a Honors Degree. I spent 5 years in undergrad, and most of it I was lost without direction. Now, I have a lot of regrets because I realized I really do want to go to med school. I don't think there is as much clarity as I am right now.

Now I am now thinking about going back to school to get a second degree and decided to apply as a non-traditional application. I am just seeking some advice, and I really would just appreciate some response.

Thank you in advance.

I'm not sure what you're looking for in terms of advice, but yes you're headed in the right direction by doing a second undergrad. But I'm also not sure what a non-traditional application is for undergrad, I thought the application was a standard form.

Anyway, be sure to focus on keeping your GPA up, keeping busy with jobs and ECs (include a decent chunk of medically related experiences) which will help with reference letters and do well on your MCAT. Research and publications are a good idea to aim for as well.