Premed 101 Forums

Interim Stats

Hey so my friend who applied and didn't get an interview got her follow-up letter today and here are the stats for interviewed applicants. I'm not sure if these are for all applicant pools or only the 4yr IP pool which she was a part of:

Ave cGPA: 3.83

Ave MCAT: 10.64

Ave MCAT WS: P

Ave Activities: 7

I don't live in Alberta, but I am glad to see that the average number of activities amongst applicants is only 7. Many of the serious applicants I see applying tend to have many more than that (15 - 25).

Quite a high GPA as well. I am in my second year holding on to a 3.85 right now and there is still so much room for mistakes. :(

I don't live in Alberta, but I am glad to see that the average number of activities amongst applicants is only 7. Many of the serious applicants I see applying tend to have many more than that (15 - 25).

Quite a high GPA as well. I am in my second year holding on to a 3.85 right now and there is still so much room for mistakes. :(

Im pretty sure that is an extracurricular score, not the raw number of activities.

7/14 in that section just means you were given a purely average score (50th percentile).

Im pretty sure that is an extracurricular score, not the raw number of activities.

7/14 in that section just means you were given a purely average score (50th percentile).

it isn't 7 out of 14 but out of 23 (or 25, as it was in the past?). From speaking with others who have applied and been rejected pre- or post-interview, it is extremely unusual to get into the double digits for the extracurricular score.

it is extremely unusual to get into the double digits for the extracurricular score.