Premed 101 Forums

Question about Mcat date and time of completion

bored

Hi,

I am about to register for my second mcat for 2012 summer.

I also want to apply this year to america.

do you guys think it is alright If I write on July 14th?

or would that be too late.

I am not sure how it works for the amcas application. so If I don't have my scores released by aamc, can I still submit my application? or is it better to get the scores and then release the application?

any advice will be appreciated. Thanks!

If you've submitted your AMCAS application, then when your scores are "released" about a month after you write, they will be automatically sent to the schools you applied to.

If I were you, I would submit the application with only schools with low-ish average MCAT scores. Once you see your score, you can decide to add more schools.

You can add as many schools as you want, even after you have submitted, until October.

Hey north12, I'm new to the American app process, and you seem to be quite an expert in this area.

I'm an Ontario resident considering applying to the US this coming cycle. University of Toronto undergrad, GPA is 3.97 ish.

I'm going to submit my AMCAS app in early June, but I want to rewrite my MCAT. I am registered to write on June 21 (scores are received on July 24). Just a few q's:

1) So it's ok to submit my AMCAS app if in early June if I rewrite my MCAT later that month?

2) Will schools consider my app before getting my new MCAT scores? If not, am I taking my MCAT too late? Should I take an earlier date (like May 31)?

3) Are top tier schools within my reach (from a statistics standpoint)?

Thanks for any feedback!

Most schools will wait for you MCAT before making interview offers. There s too little information provided to assess your competitiveness. MCAT is very important for top tier schools. But keep in mind the essay and reference and EC are also important.