Premed 101 Forums

To write or not to write?

Kasiunut

I'm scheduled to write the MCAT on April 28th and am not nearly close to be ready. I started studying intensely 2 weeks ago with a strict plan but i'm just not getting through the material fast enough.

So I'm wondering - should I cancel it and then book another take in August? Should I still write it in April and consider it a "trial" run and again in August?

I'm just really stressed about it at the moment and don't know what to do...

I'm scheduled to write the MCAT on April 28th and am not nearly close to be ready. I started studying intensely 2 weeks ago with a strict plan but i'm just not getting through the material fast enough.

So I'm wondering - should I cancel it and then book another take in August? Should I still write it in April and consider it a "trial" run and again in August?

Wow, two weeks is definitely not enough time to study for the MCAT! I would definitely recommend rescheduling it to a later date because: (1) It's expensive and time consuming (depending on if you have to travel to your testing centre), (2) You don't want multiple rewrites on your record. One or two (and possibly 3) is totally fine, but multiple rewrites might start raising eyebrows. Try to study with the intention or writing it once, and only once. It's annoying to rewrite, trust me

multiple rewrites might start raising eyebrows.

This is not true. MCAT interpretation is the most objective portion of your application. Med schools take your recent or best score. Unless you can show us otherwise, no med school website says they look at your number of attempts.

If you can afford it, I'd write and treat it as a practice run. For $100 bucks you might surprise yourself.

This is not true. MCAT interpretation is the most objective portion of your application. Med schools take your recent or best score. Unless you can show us otherwise, no med school website says they look at your number of attempts.