Premed 101 Forums

experience before applying

Guest sweetstuff25

Guest sweetstuff25

I'm in second year undergrad and planning to do a three year general science degree. I'm worried about not having enough experience before i apply for med next year (hopefully). it's quite intimidating to read the many ppl's post on how much experience/extacurricular they have for example athletics, volunteering, research..etc on top of school. so far the only thing i've done is volunteer at one hospital for three years but i'd like some advice on how to gain research experience. do i just ask any prof. at the univ. to see if they need any volunteers or do i talk to the dean..or what? i'm so confused...summers are so hectic cause i also take a buncha classes so dedicating 8hours a day isn't an option but volunteering for few hours is acceptable. someone please tell me how they get all these great experiences! 90% of researchers are looking for ppl WITH experience..but how do i gain that previous experience?:o

Guest Lactic Folly

Yes, you can just email professors whose work you're interested in.. you don't necessarily need much experience if you're willing to learn. You can also ask your current instructors for leads.. you might have to contact quite a few people to get some replies but that's ok :)

Guest Steve U of T

Some schools have summer undergraduate research programs through various departments or hospital research institutes. They give you a list of faculty members willing to take on a student, and often include a weekly lecture or seminar for all the students in the program, and the opportunity to do a poster presentation at the end. Take a look around your school, or the nearest university to where you'll be spending your summer for such programs.