Premed 101 Forums

Worth it to apply for the 2012-2013 cycle?

Hi all,

I'm currently doing an MSc at UWO (about to enter my second year) in biology and have been considering applying to med school in the fall. I have always been interested in applying, but with fear of the competition I decided on grad school.

Regardless, I'm interested in knowing whether or not I have any shot should I apply this upcoming cycle? (I'm currently studying for the MCAT, which I plan to take this fall)

1: 3.29

2: 3.29

3: 3.65

4: 3.92

cGPA: 3.54

Best two years: 3.785

I have a few presentations and one first authour paper currently in reviews with Animal Behaviour. In addition, I have also been a TA for a first year biology and two upper-year biology classes.

Extra-curriculars: plenty of theatre, volunteering, sports, national level undergrad scholarship...I feel good about my amount and level of EC's

Thanks for the help!

"Worth it to apply?" questions always strike me as kind of odd, because you are debating whether the rest of your life is worth a small application fee.

With that being said, my two cents, you should look at the sticky in this thread regarding grad policies at the different Canadian med schools.

UofT is always a good choice due to their holistic approach to applicant assessment, as long as you pass the red-flags (MCAT, minimum wGPA) you stand a chance at getting an interview.

UWO, requires the minimum GPA in each of your best two years. The lowest I've seen in the past 3 yrs is 3.75 I believe, so it may be a longshot.

Queens, as far as I know usually have a higher MCAT cut-off but look at the average of your best 2 years, and I've seen posts with people getting interviews with as low as 3.6x.