Premed 101 Forums

So I've decided to apply to med school for Sept 2013.

I've been lurking on this forum for awhile, it's a great resource!

But, of course, I'd love if some people could chance me! I'll try to keep this brief!

I live in Ontario. Would prefer to go OOP but realize that's not likely to happen.

Undergraduate honours biology degree - graduated 2003 - cGPA 2.79 (OMSAS), 2 best years GPA is 3.81 (OMSAS) - my last 10 credits. I took 4.0 credits per year x 5 years.

Masters degree microbiology and immunology GPA 3.90.

2 years working for big pharma (in the lab), then 4.5 years in a cancer research lab, and most recently just over 1 year as an Allied Health Professional. I've been on many committees in these positions (Health and Safety, Social, etc etc).

I've got several years volunteer experience, post grad certificates in Infection Control and Antimicrobial Stewardship. All sorts of clinical experience and direct patient interactions.

I wish all schools had the 10 year rule. Two best years were 2002 and 2003. Worst years 99-2001. Kills me that having way too much fun 11-13 years ago still follows me around now. (Still, I don't know that I'd change a thing!)

There is so much info I don't even know where to start!

Western requires a full course load (5 classes per semester) in those 2 best years. Queens appears to be your best (only?) shot if you make the mcat cutoffs. They also only look at your 2 most recent years of undergrad, not best. That cgpa isn't going to cut it for med school in Canada. If you are serious about pursuing medicine, look into doing a second undergrad. You can usually finish it in 2-3 years and it may open up more doors. I believe Calgary has the 10-year rule but I don't know too much about it or their requirements.