Premed 101 Forums

Advice on which schools I should apply to or how to improve my chances?

I am putting myself at the mercy of this forum for some advice. First of all let me give you some info on myself. I am 33 years old and I grew up in northern Alberta (rural community according to the UofA). I have a Master of science degree. I am currently working as a research technician in a virology/genetics laboratory at the University of Alberta where we try to discover new viruses or link existing viruses to diseases of unknown etiology. Prior to this I was working as a research technician in a genetics/ophthalmology laboratory. I have had summer research jobs during my undergrad as well as odd jobs in customer service at places like Costco, Superstore and Canadian tire as well as experience working as a server.

As to the types of ECs I have taken part in they are as follows:

- 1 first author publication and a third author publications (possibility of another publication this year as well)

- numerous abstracts and attended various conferences presenting posters on my research

- approximately three years serving as treasurer of my condominium board for my building which has been under self management (meaning we not only vote on decisions but we as board members implement the decisions that normally a management company would)

- 50 hours of training to work on a sexual assault crisis line. Followed by currently 6 months of working 6 hours a week on the lines. ( will continue on this line past application deadlines)

- volunteered twice as a route marshal and event setup for the AIDS walk

( will be doing so again this year)

- volunteered for the run for the cure event (will be doing so again this year)

- Volunteered for a meals on wheels charity event acting as a silent auction attendant and helped with cleaning up afterwards