Premed 101 Forums

Advice for a non traditional MD hopeful!

Hi all! I am looking for some advice about what my best options may be.

A little background - I am 31 years old, married with a child. I am definitely not a traditional applicant.

I have been working as a nurse practitioner for about 6 years.

While I thoroughly enjoy my career, I know that my educational journey is far from complete. I always wanted to be a doctor, but at some point or another, I let this dream slip away and lost focus.

I am always pulled back to medicine. I know that I have the potential to be a fantasic physician. I am ready and willing to put forth the level of committment and sacrifice that it requires. I work alongside physicians daily, and I am a well respected and very autonomous member of my health care team. I work with a number of physicians who are extremely encouraging of my professional goals and have offered to provide me with excellent recommendations. I have worked in a variety of specialties and I am extremely familiar of the what the role of a physician is. I know that I possess the characteristics, intelligence, and academic and personal drive to succeed.

While I have a very rewarding career, I truly feel that I have settled for less that I am capable of. I know without a doubt that I want to pursue medicine.

Western is probably my only choice at this point (which I'm ok with because it is my first choice regardless). Unlike some of the more traditional applicants, I have a young family. My husband has an established career here (I'm in the SWOMEN district). We have a large and very supportive family here (which is an absolute necessity for me to complete med school). We have a home here. I am already entwined in the medical network here and I want to remain here. I would want to pratice here in once I am done (we live in an underserved area).

So here is the problem: