Premed 101 Forums

Going full circle: From undergrad to M.Sc. to Ph.D to undergrad- advice?

Hi all,

As with a lot of people, I've been a long time lurker but now a first time poster.

So my situation is becoming more and more non-trad as time passes. I graduated with a poor undergrad cGPA, science GPA, you name it. I came out not knowing what I wanted to do, since I had written off med by second year, given my grades. I had been a stellar student all my life but things changed when I hit university (as always and with almost everyone). However instead of fighting back, I had a major confidence crash and came to accept mediocrity i.e. I came to tell myself that making class average was good enough in my program at my school because it was just so 'competitive' and 'hard'. In attempting to move on, I ended up in grad school, doing a M.Sc. in basic science research which I came to absolutely love. I finally thought I had found my calling in research. Furthermore and surprisingly, or maybe not so, it was my research experience that completely changed my perspective and gave me the motivation to pursue research AND medicine. I started thinking about MD/PhD routes and am passionate about one day being a clinician scientist. I applied to med after my M.Sc. and was rejected with no surprise. So I decided to plough ahead and do the Ph.D. since it is something I did want to pursue with the MD, or after it. Now that I'm in the middle of my Ph.D. program, reality is starting to strike, which is that my undergrad marks will haunt me to my grave and prevent me from achieving my ultimate goals. I could be happy with just a Ph.D. and do basic science research, but there is always this gnawing feeling inside me that wants to understand the clinical side of things, which I truly feel will make me a more effective researcher.