Premed 101 Forums

Ottawa ABS - What is the deal?

Hi guys,

Long time lurker-

I am considering applying to Ottawa this cycle.

I am an Ontario resident and have competitive wGPA - 3.94 (it's 3.938333333, but I assumed they'd round it up?).

The problem is- My ECs are not stellar by any measure.

I was heavily involved in only 2 student clubs throughout my undergrad. As an undergrad applicant, I don't have any outstanding EC for research other than the honors thesis and a single conference presentation.

I have received 4-5 awards/scholarships from schools and external sources, so that I think should suffice.

No hospital volunteering or clinical work. I volunteered at a couple of places in town for a very long time (2004-current).

How does my situation sound?

I am concerned because it seems like a lot of people with awesome wGPA are nevertheless rejected because they don't meet the ABS cutoff.

Any input would be greatly appreciated!

Hi guys,

Long time lurker-

I am considering applying to Ottawa this cycle.

I am an Ontario resident and have competitive wGPA - 3.94 (it's 3.938333333, but I assumed they'd round it up?).

The problem is- My ECs are not stellar by any measure.

I was heavily involved in only 2 student clubs throughout my undergrad. As an undergrad applicant, I don't have any outstanding EC for research other than the honors thesis and a single conference presentation.

I have received 4-5 awards/scholarships from schools and external sources, so that I think should suffice.

No hospital volunteering or clinical work. I volunteered at a couple of places in town for a very long time (2004-current).

How does my situation sound?

I am concerned because it seems like a lot of people with awesome wGPA are nevertheless rejected because they don't meet the ABS cutoff.

Any input would be greatly appreciated!