Premed 101 Forums

Still have chance for med school? Low Undergrad GPA Success Stories

medddh

I am starting my third year as life science student at the Univeristy of Toronto, but technically I am a second year student because of the credits I earned.

Long story short I really screwed up my first two years.

After my first year of study I was in academic probation, then second year I did recover a bit but but cgpa for first two years is still below 2.0.

I really really want to give up now but I don't want to because I am welling to give my full effort to achieve my goal.

I just want to know if I still have chance for medical school.

If anyone was in a similar situation, but eventually succeeded get accepted into med school.

Please share your experience and tell me about your story of success. It would really encourages me because I really need it.

Hopefully people succeeded could also give me some advices on what I should do next.

Thanks

This is my third year at the Univeristy of Toronto, but technically I am a second year student because of the credits I earned.

Definitely possible. Do well in your 3rd and 4th year (at least >3.7), get a well-balanced, decent MCAT score (11-11-11) and you're still good for many Canadian schools.

Self-reflect, go to counselling - determine the true reasons for your poor showing and take timely remedial action. You need to be strongly motivated to do well, prioritize, have no distractions, know how to study smart for you, know what works and what doesn't. It takes self-sacrifice and perseverance with no shortcuts. Taking courses that interest you really helps.

Hey, by no means is mine a success story but WHAT I have accomplished in the last 6 months is no less than "success". Here goes. 1st 2 years undergrad 2.1 GPA, 3rd year 3.4 GPA, MCAT (1st try) 38. I am in the process of getting hired (cross fingers here) as a Research assistant with a prof I volunteered for last semester.