Premed 101 Forums

Geographical Status

McMaster recently sent me mail informing me that they changed my geographical status from outside Ontario to Ontario. I have no idea why. I'm assuming this is a mistake, but I wanted to post my situation and get some feedback before I contact them.

I am from the Maritimes. I lived there until the end of High School. I then attended Queen's University for 2 years. I transferred back to Dalhousie to complete my undergrad and graduate work. I moved to Ontario September 2011 and continue to live in Ontario.

The OMSAS guidelines say to qualify as a Ontario resident, I must be a Canadian citizen, and have resided in Ontario for at least three years, since the age of 14, by the date of possible entry to the program.

I was under the impression that time spent as a student didn't count towards determining residency status for medical school applications. I mean, I never switched my drivers license or health card when I attended Queen's. I still consider my permanent residence to be back in the Maritimes. I've also applied to other medical schools as a Maritime applicant.

Has anyone had a similar experience? Is this just an error?

According to the website, your time as a student counts. It says 3 years since the age of 14 and time attending an Ontario university satisfies the requirement. I'm just going by what it says on the Mac website. If they do consider you IP, it's definitely good news for you! Here's the link:

http://fhs.mcmaster.ca/mdprog/geographical_status.html

Aside from asking to verify geographical status, does this letter mean anything? This same letter already asks if one anticipates any conflict with McMaster's interview dates. Do all applicants get this or only those that have a chance of being invited to an interview?