Premed 101 Forums

Advice? Non-elgible for external funding due to low GPA

culex

Hey guys,

I'm a 3rd year undergrad studying microbiology (will be extending it to 5 years, however). I've been wanting to do research for some time now, however, I feel like my GPA is preventing me from reaching this goal. I have 2.4 overall, or, 2.6 for my last 20 or so courses (I know, it's pretty much in the gutter right now). As a result, I can't apply for external funding because most require you to have a minimum B average to even be considered.

A lot of people recommended me ask professors about volunteering, which I have, but unfortunately most are hoping for students with some sort of funding and simply do not have the room to take on volunteers. At this point, I'm not exactly sure what to do. I do plan on emailing more professors, but I'm not exactly how I should go about doing this any more. I'm not sure if I should pursue those I have already messaged + recommended external funding.

I also realize some professors are able to provide for students themselves, however, I feel like they wouldn't pick me just because I don't have anything to particularly "show off"; I have a low GPA, no research experience, no volunteer hours, rewards of any sort, and my transcript doesn't even show improvement (grades have been up and down since first year, actually). Obviously not the best situation here. People have also recommended doing research outside my institute, but it's a bit too early for that right now (most postings don't pop up until spring).

I don't know. My goal at this point is obviously raising my GPA, but I just feel really discouraged especially since I'm a little halfway through my degree and still have zero experience.

Any input would be greatly appreciated, though. Thanks.