Premed 101 Forums

Quitting lab

bluechowchowmix

Hey all... I am currently doing my thesis in a lab but I don't like it. However, I want to stay on one day/week during the summer just in case I have to apply to med school again (+ get on my profs good side to give me a good reference letter). Thoughts?

I suggest you stick with it and don't drop. It may suck and you may not like it, but if you want to get a (good!) reference letter from your prof (assuming this is your thesis supervisor you're talking about), then he/she is most definitely NOT going to write you a very flattering letter for med if you quit his/her lab halfway.

Sorry I know that's probably not what you wanted to hear. But sometimes we just gotta suck it up and plow through it. Good luck.

also, going to grad school, uhh it's almost expected that ur supervisor is one of your references...

I suggest you stick with it and don't drop. It may suck and you may not like it, but if you want to get a (good!) reference letter from your prof (assuming this is your thesis supervisor you're talking about), then he/she is most definitely NOT going to write you a very flattering letter for med if you quit his/her lab halfway.

Sorry I know that's probably not what you wanted to hear. But sometimes we just gotta suck it up and plow through it. Good luck.

Hey all... I am currently doing my thesis in a lab but I don't like it. However, I want to stay on one day/week during the summer just in case I have to apply to med school again (+ get on my profs good side to give me a good reference letter). Thoughts?

this post makes me sick. If anyone was wondering why most professors have disdain towards pre-med students, its because of people like this.

Either give it 100% or quit.