Premed 101 Forums

PCAT info help!?

akuma39

I'm in second year rite now in biology just because of interest in the material, but hadn't always had my goals set on pharmacy, not until I volunteered at a pharmacy last year and getting actual working experience when I starting falling in love with this career.

I do not know much about the admission process, it seems like its not very detailed, but I just need a few tips on the PCAT. I have done all necessary pre-reqs for pharm.

-When is a good time to write my PCAT? After second year?

-What kind of material is tested on the PCAT and how do I prepare for it? I know what is tested on the mcat and different methods to study from others' experience, but no clue for pharm!

-How is it graded and whats a score I need to be one of the top?

-How long is it recommended to study for the material?

-How much chemistry do I need to know? lol

Ive only done first year chem and second year orgo (general) and biological orgo and highschool chemistry. Nothing too advanced.

Any answer to any of the questions is helpful enough! thank you for ur time!

I wrote the PCAT this past fall, so hopefully I can help!

1) You will definitely be prepared to write the PCAT after second year. Most of the material was actually high school level, and I don't recall there being anything above second year level (except for maybe a bit of biochem, but you certainly wouldn't need to take a course to master the small amount of info)