Premed 101 Forums

Another IMG!!

Hello everyone,

I'm a 4th year medical student (5 year program) in Royal college of surgeons in Ireland - Bahrain, planning to do my residency in Canada. I have the PR and I'm aware of the difficult path ahead of me ...I just have a couple of questions.

I've heard that fresh graduates have better chances in getting residency spots...I'm planning to do research in Canada for a year after my graduation in 2014. Will I still be considered a fresh graduate if I apply a year after my graduation?

My other option is sitting the mccee by the end of this year and apply through CaRMS..but I havent done any electives in Canada, I will be doing an elective in Feb 2014. Are they going to consider the elective if I mention it on my CV?

I'm kinda lost. Will doing research after graduation increase my chances in getting a residency spot? Should I do more electives for a year after graduation then start the application process? Should I sit the mccee this year and apply without doing the research?

I'd appreciate some help.

Hello everyone,

I'm a 4th year medical student (5 year program) in Royal college of surgeons in Ireland - Bahrain, planning to do my residency in Canada. I have the PR and I'm aware of the difficult path ahead of me ...I just have a couple of questions.

I've heard that fresh graduates have better chances in getting residency spots...I'm planning to do research in Canada for a year after my graduation in 2014. Will I still be considered a fresh graduate if I apply a year after my graduation?

My other option is sitting the mccee by the end of this year and apply through CaRMS..but I havent done any electives in Canada, I will be doing an elective in Feb 2014. Are they going to consider the elective if I mention it on my CV?