Premed 101 Forums

Step 3 vs MCCQE

I'm using study materials for the USMLE Step 3 which I'm also writing. If I add in the Toronto Notes section on Ethics + the Canadian health care stuff, is this adequate for the MCCQE part 1? If anyone has written both let me know what you think.

Also, if you've done both, what are the similarities/differences between the USMLE Clinical Case Simulations on day 2, and the MCCQE's CDM section?

• 2 weeks later...
I'm using study materials for the USMLE Step 3 which I'm also writing. If I add in the Toronto Notes section on Ethics + the Canadian health care stuff, is this adequate for the MCCQE part 1? If anyone has written both let me know what you think.

Also, if you've done both, what are the similarities/differences between the USMLE Clinical Case Simulations on day 2, and the MCCQE's CDM section?

I don't remember too many details now, but wrote our school's 4th year comprehensive exam, MCCQE Part 1, and Step 2 CK at the same time. I studied my class notes, Toronto notes, and First Aid for Step 2 CK, and it was fine.

I didn't write Step 3 until a few months later (used the McGraw-Hill Family Practice review), but there was enough overlap with the other exams that I could have probably written it at the same time as well.

For the similarities/differences, your best bet is to look at whatever information has been provided about the format, and sample questions on the official websites. Again, similar knowledge base, just different approach based on the question format.

• 1 month later...

I wrote and passed the MCCQE1 in may this year. Since there's so little reference material to use for the QE1 I ended up using USMLE material along with toronto notes. I used the step 2 and step 3 USMLE world Qbank and read through toronto notes to boot.