Premed 101 Forums

Chances at British Schools Based on Academic Standing

Hello all,

Any opinions on what my chances are at the top British schools?

I am a Canadian student from Ontario (Queen's University).

MCAT: 34 S (12 PS, 10 VR, 12 BS)

Note: I realize MCAT isn't used in the UK. I haven't taken the BMAT/UKCAT yet. I just want an idea of what people think based on the I information I have to give.

Science GPA: 3.96

cGPA: 3.94

Hello all,

Any opinions on what my chances are at the top British schools?

I am a Canadian student from Ontario (Queen's University).

MCAT: 34 S (12 PS, 10 VR, 12 BS)

Note: I realize MCAT isn't used in the UK. I haven't taken the BMAT/UKCAT yet. I just want an idea of what people think based on the I information I have to give.

Science GPA: 3.96

cGPA: 3.94

I'm guessing you want to apply to UK GEM 4 year programs? UK GEM programs are very very hard to get into even for UK students. If you want you can also try the UK 5 year/6 year programs although most of your classmates will be fresh out of high school.

In that case you probably will get an interview. Aim for over 680+ on your UKCAT. Between 630-680 you should avoid the schools that take the UKCAT heavily into account.

Why are you not applying to Canada or the US, why Britain?

You are correct that I am looking to apply to GEM 4 programs. I plan on applying to all 3 countries. I like the idea of going to school in Europe for a few reasons, which are not worth getting into in this forum. I'm really hoping to take a stab at the GEM programs at Oxford/Cambridge/ICL/etc. if I have any kind of a chance.

You are correct that I am looking to apply to GEM 4 programs. I plan on applying to all 3 countries. I like the idea of going to school in Europe for a few reasons, which are not worth getting into in this forum. I'm really hoping to take a stab at the GEM programs at Oxford/Cambridge/ICL/etc. if I have any kind of a chance.