Premed 101 Forums

CAN FM vs. USA FM

As a prospective FM resident, I was wondering if anyone had any insight to CAN FM vs. USA FM. Please note, I am married to a US Citizen and can apply for my US Citizenship anytime while in Canada, so I don't have to worry about visas.

If I am looking to relocate to the states longterm, is it better to apply for US Residency during CAN medical school, take the appropriate USMLE's, and go through the US Match (I understand there is a lack of IMG spots but I wouldn't qualify as that if I obtain residency, would I?)? Or wait until I am finished my FM residency, apply for a FM fellowship in the states (after obtaining residency), and take any necessary exams? Or finish my FM residency, take the optional 3rd in year in (blank), then relocate to the states and take any necessary exams?

The obvious con in the former is not being prepared for the USMLE due to Canadian med school curriculum/learning objectives (somewhat subjective, but from what I have read there is an apparent difference which constitutes in Canadians needing more time to prepare for the USMLE). There is no rush for my family to relocate to the US so it is more or less just a question about which process is "easier".

As a prospective FM resident, I was wondering if anyone had any insight to CAN FM vs. USA FM. Please note, I am married to a US Citizen and can apply for my US Citizenship anytime while in Canada, so I don't have to worry about visas.