Premed 101 Forums

July 26th MCAT?

S76

I know how you feel! Although I'm getting a bit nervous now, one more day...! Any tips on how to spend the day before? Do people usually study? I will likely do some review earlier in the day and try to just relax in the evening.

I know how you feel! Although I'm getting a bit nervous now, one more day...! Any tips on how to spend the day before? Do people usually study? I will likely do some review earlier in the day and try to just relax in the evening.

DO NOT STUDY BEFORE THE TEST

lol sorry I just had to make it caps so you wouldn't make that mistake.

For what it's worth, I studied the day before the test and did really well. Everybody is different - do whatever feels best to you.

EDIT: Actually, to clarify, I wrote an AAMC practice test the day before. Trying to cram or learn new material that day is probably a bad idea.

Don't follow this advice if not studying is going to make you more anxious. That's the caveat that tends to be forgotten. As already stated above, just review things that are already known (i.e., avoid new material) and reduce your hours significantly.

• 5 weeks later...

OK. Marks are coming out today. My weakest suit is the VR (as with many other people). I have a spot for Sept. 7, but I've taken the MCAT 4 times before and only got 8-9 each time (although in the practice, I consistently pull up a 11 or 12). Sigh. Hope I get a 11 on VR this time...I'm so scared!

I just checked my July 26 scores too and ended up with a 10 in VR. Not the 11 I was hoping for but I'm happy with it (after getting a 9 last time).