Premed 101 Forums

Pass with Remedial/Supplementary Exam

I am a 1st year pre-clerk student who just passed my final exam with a supplementary exam (so yeah I failed first time), and my understanding is that this WILL show up on my transcript...

Is this a huge red flag, making me doomed for a CO2 field?

No chance for surgical specialty (excluding super competitive ones like ENT, Optho...) at all?

I am a 1st year pre-clerk student who just passed my final exam with a supplementary exam (so yeah I failed first time).

No chance for surgical specialty (excluding super competitive ones like ENT, Optho...) at all?

So upsetting :(

Probably fine. Just work your butt off the rest of the time. Clerkship is more important anyhow.

I am a 1st year pre-clerk student who just passed my final exam with a supplementary exam (so yeah I failed first time), and my understanding is that this WILL show up on my transcript...

Probably school dependent. However, after seeing transcripts from schools from across the land I would say the average is that only true failures, as in you failed and took the course/rotation again appear on most transcripts.

It probably does not matter. Just check with your med school student services to confirm.

Confirmed with the school...it WILL appear on my transcript that i passed with remediation, but it will NOT on MSPR (as in MSPR will just say pass)....:(

My understanding is that it is quite common for that to appear in some fashion (they are currently working on a standardized MSPR for all of Ontario where it definitely will to keep everything consistent).

It isn't great of course but it also doesn't have to destroy everything. I am not sure what you are interested in doing but of course working even harder from this point on is really the best and only thing you can do.

I hope they also standardize what appears on transcripts as well, as it seems whether or not the first fail appears on transcripts really depends on school.