Premed 101 Forums

Internal Medicine - the road there

JP2118

Hi all, I'm in my second year MD, and I'm interested in getting into Internal Medicine in Toronto, Vancouver, or another school in southwestern Ontario. I am currently the president of 2 clubs at my med school, and I have a MSc in respiratory research (bench-based) with 1 publication where I'm not first author and various abstracts and research awards. What are my chances, and what do I need to clinch the position?

Thanks guys!

It's not very hard to match to IM, though you should think about what you're looking for in a program. Generally speaking, do well on your core IM (and all other) rotations, get letters from them, and then do the lion's share of your electives in IM at a variety of schools, including those you might wish to match to.

It's generally very hard to match to Toronto let alone get an interview there, so be prepared not to. Mac, Western, and Queen's are all good places to do electives, with Mac probably being the most competitive program overall (and one of the most competitive in the country).

It seems that way, along with picking super-academic/research types from elsewhere. I applied to two specialties (well, three counting my home school family programs), interviewed for one at Toronto (not IM), and both at Mac.

I might give Mac the edge in the strength of the program overall, though I'm sure that I get more independence and procedural experience at my current program than either of them.

So what you're saying is that it's quite hard to get a residency position in Southern Ontario? How should I even go about doing my electives? Still try for the school(s) I'm mainly interested in, regardless of my chances of getting there? In short, I need to try and get into a school that is either in a big city, or reasonably adjacent to one (for family reasons).