Premed 101 Forums

Post acceptance GPA at Ottawa

Hey all,

Had a question about the GPA I need to maintain in my last (4th) year, should I get accepted to Ottawa this cycle. I am currently in 4th year.

If I understand the website correctly, I must maintain a wGPA equal to 3.85 (the wGPA cutoff for non-Ottawa Ontario students), which includes my 4th year (x3), 3rd year (x2), and 2nd year (x1).

This doesnt make sense to me though, since what if someone is applying with a wGPA of 3.86~ (years 1-3) and they end up finishing 4th year with a 3.83~. This would mean they do not achieve the wGPA requirement (using year 2-4), even though they received the same GPA essentially.

Maybe someone here has experience with this/has heard about this? Is this indeed the cutoff, and is it a HARD cutoff?

OK So I am going to give this a go. Someone can correct me if I am wrong.

Essentially your wGPA needs to be above a certain value (and I am 99% sure that is a hard cut off)

If you did not take enough courses in 4th year to use it as part of your wGPA (i.e. 7 courses or less (generally)), then your marks are "inconsequential" given that you didn't drop 20% in overall average. Example, I took 6 courses in my last year (3 each semester) so it was not used in my wGPA.

Your acceptance is given based on maintaining a specific wGPA. That's all.

OK So I am going to give this a go. Someone can correct me if I am wrong.

Essentially your wGPA needs to be above a certain value (and I am 99% sure that is a hard cut off)

If you did not take enough courses in 4th year to use it as part of your wGPA (i.e. 7 courses or less (generally)), then your marks are "inconsequential" given that you didn't drop 20% in overall average. Example, I took 6 courses in my last year (3 each semester) so it was not used in my wGPA.

Your acceptance is given based on maintaining a specific wGPA. That's all.

Yes, your wGPA absolutely must be above the cutoff for your geographical area.

Thanks.