Premed 101 Forums

University of Guelph to Medical Schools

Johnra95

Hello

I am a student from University of Guelph. I am intending to major in Bio-Medical Sciences. I had a 1st semester GPA of 96. My ultimate goal is to become a general practitioner. I would like to know how many students from University of Guelph make it to medical schools. I am nervous about the fact that University of Guelph does not have a medical school, so I would be at disadvantage compared to students from universities that have medical schools and associated hospitals. I would like to know statistics of students from Guelph going to medical school, if possible. I was thinking of switiching to Mac Health Sci or enroll in Calgary Health Sci to get the alberta advantage

Should I transfer? I don't think I want to but my parents said it boosts the chance of getting accepted to medical school.

Are there a lot of students from Guelph that make it to med school?

Thank You So Much!

Where you go for undergrad does not matter, it's been addressed many times on here.

Regarding stats: I imagine that Guelph may have the same issue my university does because of the vet school: lots of pre-vets, not so many premeds. As a result, statistics would likely be misleading anyway as the career goals of Guelph undergrads are not likely the same, on a population-level, as undergrads from a 'popular' premed program like Mac HealthSci. (and to be honest I cannot think of any schools in Canada that publishes the information you are seeking.)

If you are doing well, which appears to be the case, and like the school, there is no reason to change schools because there's no inherent advantage attending a university that has a med school.

Hello