Premed 101 Forums

Late but I need advice/ encouragement

Regrets

Gpa: 3.55cGPA; 3.81 wGPA (Biomed at Laurentian 2013)

ECs: Life guard, Big Sisters, Club president 2 years, Research experience + publication, hospital and cancer center volunteering, shadowing doctor, etc.

Trad or Non-trad?: Traditional

This was my third time applying, interviewed 3 times and I didn't get on the waitlist once. I am currently doing my masters at U of T. I am terribly discouraged. The reason my GPA is so low is that my father passed away during first year and I still continued my studies. It feels horrible seeing all your friends get in while you are left behind.

Does anyone have any success stories of them taking multiple years to get in? I really need some encouragement :( .

Sincerely,

A NOSM hopeful

Regrets

ECs: Life guard, Big Sisters, Club president 2 years, Research experience + publication, hospital and cancer center volunteering, shadowing doctor, etc.

This was my third time applying, interviewed 3 times and I didn't get on the waitlist once. I am currently doing my masters at U of T. I am terribly discouraged. The reason my GPA is so low is that my father passed away during first year and I still continued my studies. It feels horrible seeing all your friends get in while you are left behind.

Does anyone have any success stories of them taking multiple years to get in? I really need some encouragement :( .

Sincerely,

A NOSM hopeful

5 years of applying to Mac, interviewed the last 4 years I applied, never waitlisted once, got in on my 5th try. It's possible!! If you get interviews you are a competitive applicant and try to remember that...if you keep applying you are bound to get in. That's what I kept telling myself and good things can happen!! Perseverance can be a very important quality that you are learning now for med school!! Try not to lose hope, your day will come!!