Premed 101 Forums

What are the investigators looking for in a cover letter?

daftypatty

I'm trying to apply for a research position at my university, and the investigator wants a cover letter, resume and a transcript.

My marks are okay, but I have doubts about the quality of my resume and cover letter.

What exactly is the investigator looking for in the resume and cover letter? The research is to look at the role of methylation and unexplained intellectual disability in pediatric population. He said that the main role I would mainly be doing data extraction from selected cases and data entry.

I have no research experience, but if it was worth mentioning about the lab skills I've acquired from my undergrad classes (chemistry, organic chem, etc.). I am also highly proficient in computers, MS office, and technology in general, and I know that I could do with data collection and entry, but I have no "official" experience to back up this claim, other than hobby stuff I do on the computer.. Other experiences I have include volunteering with a spinal cord rehab centre, teaching English/math to children, being part of a media club in high school, and that is pretty much all the "relevant" experiences I have to this field.

Since job requirement they are specifically looking for is data collection and entry, should I solely focus on how proficient I am with computers and the attributes I have possess which would make me a good data organizer or would it be worth mentioning the volunteering and involvement I had with the community as well?

They also did mention that the opportunity would provide exposures to clinical and scholarly aspects of academic medicine and that it would provide opportunities to work with other healthcare professionals and researchers... So would it be worth while mentioning my plans/goals/why I am interested in medicine?