Premed 101 Forums

Research? What is research :x

Guest krnboy

Guest krnboy

I've been browsing this message board and read several people's threads mentioning how they were involved in research. I'm like :eek

What is this so-called research?

and how would you go about "doing this research" ?

I want to know T-T

Guest MayFlower1

krnboy,

If you could provide some more specifics with respect to what you'd like to know, I'd be happy to answer any questions you have. I've been doing primary research for more than 12 years.

Peter

Guest Biochem10

Ever heard of "Run for the Cure", "The Princess Margaret Hospital Lottery", "Walk for MS"??? All these events that are organized to raise money to find "cures" for diseases sponsor research. What is research you ask?? It's the process of discovery and it goes on in just about every area that you can think of (it's not just in health). Almost every professor you will meet in University is involved in some kind of research. Health research generally takes place in hospital research institutes, in departments of a university, at pharmaceutical companies or in government. Probably a very common example is the research that goes into making a new pill. Before one can even think of releasing a new pill to the public there's many people behind the scenes who figure out how the pill will work, how it can be delivered and whether it is safe. These people are generally chemists or biochemists and have advanced university degrees (MSc, PhD). This research generally takes place in pharmaceutical companies. Anyway, I hope this was a nice broad overview because I could probably go on and give you a million examples of what research is. Once you are in university and you go to your first lab, I think you will understand a little better what life science degrees really prepare you for (a MSc or PhD). These degrees generally involve discovering something novel.

Guest Jerika81