Premed 101 Forums

Should i apply to med school this year?

Guest kriserella

Guest kriserella

Hi,

I'm in 2nd year going to 3rd year and currently, i'm studying for my MCATs. My biggest worry is I'm not sure if I have the grades to apply. I am an A- student which corresponds to a 3.72 GPA. I'm pretty well-rounded and I think I have a decent portfolio (ie. volunteering, working..etc). Do you think I should apply to med school this year? I don't want to waste all that hard earned money but I don't want to 'waste' another year if you think my grades will cut it. Please let me know on this sore point!

Also, i guess my MCATs score will have to be phenomenal huh? (too bad I won't be able to see it if I apply this year!)

Thanks.

Guest Ian Wong

I moved your question out of the MCAT forum into the General Premed forum.

I think it's well worth applying in your third year. The experience you'll gain from doing all that self-introspection to write your autobiographical materials, and getting your reference letters is huge. Even if you don't get accepted after third year, you will be in a much better position to re-apply in fourth year.

If you are not accepted, you will also have a better idea of what you need to do to improve your application (ie. MCAT scores, research, extra-currics, more interview practice, etc). I know that the application process costs a lot of money, and it will take a significant amount of time (you would have to interview at the same time as you are taking classes in third year), but in the long term scheme of things, you will on average be in debt over $70,0000 after four years of med school (this is the average debt-load in my class at UBC, where tuition only very recently got deregulated), so the money you lose in the application process is minimal at best.

I say give it a go, and apply. Who knows, you might get an acceptance letter, and the opportunity to shave a year off your studies if you choose.

Ian

Guest UWOMED2005