Premed 101 Forums

Do I Have Any Chances? (Do Or Med)

I am a molecular biology student attending a university in BC. resident of BC and Alberta

First year: 4 courses/semester: ~2.79 GPA (was a dumbass)

second year: 4 courses/semester: ~3.58 gpa

Third year: 4 courses/semester: ~3.96 gpa

Fourth year: 4 courses/semester: 3.55 gpa (3.85 in one semester and absolutely ruined the other semester, this was the semester that ruined my chances at Canada)

Fifth year: 6 courses/semester: ~3.90 gpa

overall: 3.55 GPA :(

Science GPA: not sure which courses are included

Worst year dropped: 3.75 gpa

MCAT:

9VR/12BIO/10PHYS

9VR/11BIO/10PHYS

I plan to move to the US regardless of Canadian or US acceptance or International acceptance to practice as a Family Physician.

EC: 2 years of big brother, NSERC summer research w/o publication, Conversation partner for 4 ESL students for a year, Summer camp volunteering, volunteered at a physiotherapy clinic for 200 hours, some tutoring, some travelling etc.

I'm planning on volunteering for 30hours a week this year If i do not get in, I may do some volunteering in a third world country to help out.

I pray everyday I don't have to go outside of North America for medical school. I had great chances before luck turned against me in that one semester, not sure what happened because I studied very hard.

I think you have a chance at DO and maybe low tier MD as well. 

I know you do have a good chance in Ireland and Australia though. 

To be fair its not the end of the world for you, with your stats FM in USA is definitely achievable no matter where you go for med school. 

Chances at USDO, but the doubtful for any low tier MD, the numbers just aren't there. If you have money to burn may as well for that small chance.

You won't need to leave NA though. Also keep trying UBC as well, changes every year

at UBC my GPA is roughly 84.97%