Premed 101 Forums

Grad Applicant - Should I Retake The Mcat, Or Just Apply? Advice Appreciated!

Hello everyone!

Long time lurker, finally decided to make myself known, since I'm in serious need of advice. I'd really appreciate any help you guys can offer :)

Here's my issue:

Currently, I'm a masters student (research-based), defending my thesis in August. Master's cGPA is a 4.0

My undergrad stats are a 3.52 OMSAS cGPA, with a 3.74, and 3.96 fourth and fifth year, respectively. I also count for weighting for all five years of my undergrad, which gives me about a 3.78 wGPA at UofT, and a 3.72  wGPA in uOttawa's calculation.

As for the MCAT, I've taken it 3 times (I know, I know):

1st time: 29 total, with 9 VR, 10 BS, 10 PS

2nd time: 28 total, with 9 VR 9 BS, 9 PS

3rd time: 30 total, with 11 VR, 10 BS, 9 PS

My ECS are pretty standard- I'll get a publication out of my thesis, I've presented at two conferences, got a masters scholarship, volunteer, research assistant, etc. 

I'm really at a loss as to what to do here- should I just go ahead and apply, or take the new MCAT this summer? I'm thinking the new one might play more to my strengths, than the old one ( I'm much more of an integrated thinker), But of course, its a risk.

I think that with my stats, the best chance I’ve got is at Western or Queens for Ontario schools, so that’s why I would consider doing it again (or for the first time, depending on how you look at it) .

Any thoughts or advice? Thanks in advance!