Premed 101 Forums

looking at my options

Guest gonzo23

Guest gonzo23

Hello,

Ok... I'm going to ask for any help possible. Here's my situation. I'm in biochemistry at UWaterloo, going into 4th year. OMSAS GPA is 3.84 and my old MCAT was 6V, 12P, 11B, O-writing. I applied to Mac, UT and Ottawa last year and didn't get one interview (but wasn't even eligible for OTtawa due to co-op). I'm writing the MCAT again in august and have been doing better on verbal (9s and 10s) so hopefully I'll be set for next year.

But this coming fall I'll be going to england on an academic exchange, and am really concerned about having enough time to apply to schools. I want to apply out of province and in-province as well as to the states (I'm an ontario resident) but don't know how my stats. compare to others. I have 2 years of research experience (academia and industry) and have volunteered a fair bit (but nothing stellar). I am learning sign language and pursue orchestral performance (my big non-science endeavour).

I just wanted to know how some matriculants would view my situation. I'm definitely applying to Ontario schools (cross fingers for MCAT!!!) but I don't know how low my chances are at OOP schools. As well, AMCAS has already started their applicants right? so I'll be handing them in late! and what about early decision stuff? is it worth it? I don't mind taking a year off if things don't work out next year, but at the same time want to give next year's applications my best shot!

So many questions... any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!

Guest aneliz

Okay...

As far as the Ontario schools go, your biggest obstacle to overcome is that MCAT...a 6V and O on WS are not going to get you too far in Ontario. Aim for at least a 9 and P.

Your GPA is fine, your extracurrics are likely fine etc.