Premed 101 Forums

post-grad advantage?

Guest jaylily

Guest jaylily

I have a masters degree in a professional program (non-medical) and have been out of school for 2 years now. Would this be an advantage to me at all when applying to med school? Do they tend to favour post-grad applicants?? *crosses fingers*

Guest Spencer

Hey jaylily,

I really think that the answer to your question varies between medical schools, i know for a fact that UWO does not take into consideration any post-graduate degrees. At some med schools however (don't quote me on this one) I believe that they put post-grad applicants into a separate applicant pool, I don't know if that works to your advantage but it could mean that you won't have to compete with the bulk of students coming up from the undergrads...Hope that helps :D

What Spencer said is correct. Some schools don't consider your grad work, some put you in a different pool (Mac, maybe U of T), and some schools, like U of A, give you bonus marks on your application when you apply and have a grad degree.

Guest UTMed07
Some schools don't consider your grad work, some put you in a different pool (Mac, maybe U of T)

I agree with fox and can definitively say (as a former grad applicant) U of T puts grad applicants into a different pool.

At U of T, I have the impression the odds are slightly worse; I asked a few years ago about the numbers (when the total number of applicants to U of T was still less than 1800). At that time there were approximately 450 grad applicants (of all kinds) of which 90 got interviewed and 45 end-up in the class. I imagine the odds at U of T (now) are somewhat worse (because the total number of applicants in Ontario increased).