Premed 101 Forums

Volunteer

Guest mesoderm

Guest mesoderm

This website is great. I just have a few questions.

Is volunteering that important?? I only had one volunteer exp. and it was back in high school, but it wasn't all that great, i only did filing basically.

I want to volunteer again this summer (I'm in 3rd year now, and that'd fill up the hole in my application, my academics is fine) but I'm thinking of getting an NSERC research job instead. Which one is more worth it? I honestly prefer the research job b/c i'd be paid. DOH! But still, I want to be a doc too.

(There are a few reasons why I can't do both that I won't get into)

Thanks in advance.

Both experiences are great, but my personal standpoint is to do what you want to do with your life, not what you think med schools expect of you. That being said, most medical schools want to see that you have some health-related experience, whether it be volunteer work or a paid job. The NSERC that I did, as great as it was, was purely lab work. Could you not volunteer someplace between now and the summer? There are lots of organizations out there who are just dying for people and they often only expect a minimal commitment.

Most medical schools want to see that you have at least *some* volunteer work - preferably where you worked with people (helping kids read, working with seniors, feeding the homeless, etc).

The point of looking for volunteer work is that you have:

1. Shown some commitment to an activity that was not motivated by $$$

2. Given your time to the benefit of your community rather than just yourself (ie are not totally self-centred)

3. Learned something about yourself/society in the process (awareness of poverty, ability to communicate with troubled teens, shortage of social support resources in community, etc)