Premed 101 Forums

Science Pre-reqs

Guest newman72

Guest newman72

I completed a math degree at Waterloo and have been working in the business world for the past 8 years. My desire to become a doctor led me to apply to Mac med for 2004 admission - the only med school I can apply to without any science pre-reqs. If I don't get in, I'll apply again next year, but my back-up plan for September 2004 was to take a year of undergrad science courses to satisfy pre-reqs for other med schools. This way I can apply to other med schools for 2005 admission, not just Mac.

However, I just got laid off from my job last week, so I want to re-assess my plan. Now I'm thinking about going back to school in January 2004 to start taking pre-reqs. But I'm not sure if any universities (preferably around Toronto - ie. UofT, York, Mac) offer undergrad admissions for January? Also, I'm not sure what my status is, since I'm not applying from high school and I've already got a bachelor's degree. I don't really need another degree, just a year or so of science pre-reqs to be able to apply to other med schools.

Can someone please tell me if it is even possible for me to get into any universities in January 2004 to start taking science pre-reqs? Are most 1st year undergrad biology and chemistry courses full-year courses that run from Sept-April? University websites are terribly designed and very difficult to navigate to get the information I'm looking for. Any advice from those of you still in undergrad at different universities would certainly help. Thanks!

Guest Elaine I