Premed 101 Forums

Reference letters from profs/department heads

Guest ashylips

Guest ashylips

In other words, i don't know any well enough. or more importantly, they don't know me. i'm in 2nd year and can't think of anyone who'd strongly vouch for me.

this sounds like a common thing, but is it too weird to go up to a prof who has no idea who i am and ask them to write about me?

Guest BCgirl

A reference letter from someone who doesn't know you would be useless. The reference letter writers are usually asked specific questions about you... if they don't know you, how could they answer them? All of the reference letter forms for applications that I've worked on say something along the lines of, "if you don't know the applicant well enough to answer these questions, you shouldn't write the reference."

You should probably try to get to know some of your professors so that they can write a decent letter for you when the time comes.

Guest aneliz