Premed 101 Forums

Radiology Shadowing

I am a first year medical student, and I have been interested in radiology for some time, before I got into medical school. I am now thinking of starting shadowing radiologists, and getting involved in some research projects. Is there anything I should pay attention to when requesting shadowing opportunities?

Our school provides a list of physicians who are open to have medical students shadow them. Is it more beneficial to shadow one radiologist multiple times, to get a deeper understanding of the field, or to shadow different radiologists and hear their potentially different insights? I also have an email address of the chief residents in my school. Is it more helpful to shadow senior residents first, and approach attendings after getting more information about the program?

Thank you!

I think that over the course of an afternoon/morning with someone, you'd be able to exhaust most people's perspectives about why they chose the field, what they like about it, etc. If you had a good rapport with someone, you could try to parlay that into a research project, rather than multiple shadowing sessions (unless it's an elective like IR where a student can advance in responsibility, versus shadowing in diagnostic radiology where a student is quite limited in what they can do). 

To get a deeper understanding of the field, I'd suggest shadowing different areas in radiology, like mammo/IR/ultrasound, and perhaps different settings (though community/clinic settings may not be as accessible to a medical student). This would also allow you to be exposed to different radiologists at the same time.