Premed 101 Forums

Finances

This has probably been discussed many times before and I have been looking though previous posts on this matter. I am in a bit of a dilemma with my situation.

I am a non traditional student with a graduate degree and work experience. I am preparing for the MCAT and looking to apply to medical school in the next cycle (June 2017 for US, Fall 2017 for Canada). I want to apply broadly so looking mostly at schools in Ontario (3-4 schools depending on MCAT score) and US (possibly 15-20 schools).

On second thought I am debating whether or not to apply to the US mainly because of finances. I have savings that I can use for application fees, interviewing costs like travel etc but I am not sure how I would be able to pay for the tuition costs if accepted. I have looked into OSAP but that would not be enough. I don't have any family members that would be able to co sign or lend me money for school. 

I really want to do medicine - I have tried other options already including graduate school and working but my heart is still in medicine. I have a decent GPA, good graduate productivity, publications, reference letters etc. But given that it is so competitive to get in at a Canadian school, I want to apply broadly and willing to go anywhere in Canada or US. I am already older than the traditional pre-meds so I really don't have that luxury of time to apply multiple times persistently.

Can someone who has gone to a US school or knows more about the finances regarding this give me some advise? Possibly a break down of costs, possible financial aid (if US schools have anything for Canadians) etc would be helpful. Should I be looking at US schools or just stick to Canada?